Andy Roddick to retire after U.S. Open

NEW YORK – Andy Roddick, the top American man for the last decade, and the last American man to win a Grand Slam event, will retire from tennis after the U.S. Open.

Roddick made the announcement in a news conference Thursday.

“I have decided that this is going to be my last tournament,” Roddick said. “I don’t know if I’m healthy enough or committed enough to continue another year.”

Roddick has 32 career ATP World Tour titles, including two this season. The biggest came in 2003 at the U.S. Open. He has four doubles titles. He first reached No. 1 in the world for the first time in November 2003, becoming the youngest American (21 years, 3 months) to end the year at No. 1 (2003).

He is a three-time Wimbledon finalist (2004-05, ’09), losing to Roger Federer each time. The 2009 final ended 16-14 in the fifth set.

Roddick also owns 33 Davis Cup victories, second in U.S. Davis Cup history, and he helped lead the USA to a Davis Cup title in 2007.

Roddick is scheduled to play Friday night againstBernard Tomic.

“I wanted an opportunity to say goodbye. I hope I’m sticking around,” he said.

“I still love the innocent parts of the game. I love hitting tennis balls and the young guys doing well.”]

“Walking off at Wimbledon I felt like I knew. I couldn’t imagine myself being there another year.” 

“When I was playing my first round I knew.

http://www.usopen.org/en_US/interactive/radio/index.html?promo=twitter

Leave a Reply

